Tourist Attractions

14 AP ministers on One task for the next 25 days

Kadapa: At least half of Andhra Pradesh council of ministers (read as 14 for now) will focus their energies for the next 25 days on one task  leaving adminstartion aside — defeating YS Jagan in the by-election to the Kadapa Loksabha seat.


While seven ministers have been made in-charge of one Assembly segment each under Kadapa Lok Sabha constituency, seven others will assist them in campaigning and coordinate in other electioneering work.

All of them will try to secure victory for their cabinet colleague DL Ravindra Reddy who will fight Jagan in the by-poll scheduled for May 8.

Notification for the by-poll will be issued on Monday. Congress president Sonia Gandhi finally cleared the name of Ravindra Reddy for Kadapa Lok Sabha seat and agriculture minister YS Vivekananda Reddy for Pulivendula assembly seat today though it was yet to be formally announced, party sources said.

Read :  Kadapa, Pulivendula bypolls on May 8


Viveka, however, is refusing to jump into the fray unless his resignation from the minister’s post is accepted. Left with no other option, chief minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy reportedly assured that Viveka’s resignation letter, submitted on March 30, would be forwarded to Governor ESL Narasimhan for approval.


A formal official communication in this regard is expected tomorrow, according to the sources.

The ministers who have been made in-charges of Assembly constituencies are: Badvel (SC) – M Maheedhara Reddy; Kadapa – Kanna Lakshmi Narayana; Pulivendula – Anam Ramanarayana Reddy; Kamalapuram – N Raghuveera Reddy; Jammalamadugu – Botsa Satayanarayana; Proddatur – T G Venkatesh; Mydukur – Dharamana Prasada Rao.

Read :  కరువుబండ యాత్రలు సీమలో ఆగాలంటే...

Besides, ministers DK Aruna, D Sridhar Babu, Basavaraj Sarayya, P Balaraju, S Sailajanath, Mopidevi Venkata Ramana and Erasu Pratap Reddy will assist the constituency in-charges in the poll work.

The ministers have been chosen as per the caste and community calculations in the respective segments, Congress sources said.

Apart from the ministers, about 34 Congress MLAs are also being deputed to each mandal (tehsil) in the Kadapa Lok Sabha segment for canvassing for the party and coordinating with local cadres.

On the other hand, only two Congress MLAs G Srikanth Reddy and C Amarnath Reddy loyal to him are actually campaigning actively for Jagan.

Read :  Kadapa District Collectors

Keeping an eye on the minority vote bank, the leaders felt that the AICC general secretary, Ghulam Nabi Azad, should be invited to address election meetings. Former Minister Md. Ali Shabbir and former Legislative Council Deputy Chairman Md. Jani have been asked to extensively tour places where the minority population was sizable.

Check Also

District Collectors

Greatness of Kadapa

Kadapa District Specialities and uniqueness from the famous Yogi Vemana University Research Scholars Read :  …

Kadapa Goa

Kadapa to Goa Train Timings

Kadapa to Goa train timings and details of trains. Distance between Kadapa and Goa. Timetable …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *